Wednesday, May 25, 2011

And the New Opeth Album Will Be Called......

Didn't I just tell ya this year had plenty more in store for us?!  Opeth has officially announced, via their facebook page, that their new album will be entitled Heritage.  The album is also set to be released this September, apparently.  Good news indeed.  I'll post more news about this as it is released.


I figured I would just update the next wave of info here rather than on another post.  But yes there is plenty of new info on Opeth's new album including the full track-lisitng!

Check out all of this info after the break.
Here's the official word on the new album, and such, via Blabbermouth.
Swedish progressive metallers OPETH will release their tenth album, "Heritage", on September 20 via Roadrunner Records. The CD was produced by OPETH vocalist/guitarist Mikael Åkerfeldt and was recorded earlier this year at Atlantis studios (formerly Metronome studios) in Stockholm. Mixing duties were handled by Steven Wilson (PORCUPINE TREE) and Åkerfeldt. Longtime collaborator Travis Smith also worked with Åkerfeldt to create, design and execute the album's artwork.

"Heritage" will be released in several configurations that will certainly incite the interest of OPETH's legion of fans, known for their passion for collecting and collectibles. The album will be released as a standard version; as a special edition loaded with extras; as a box set exclusive to the Roadrunner and the band's own official Omerch webstore; and as a double LP. There is something for every OPETH fan, thanks to this variety of options.

Commented Åkerfeldt, "It will be our 10th album/observation. I dig it; we all do. In fact, it feels like I've been building up to write for and participate on an album like this since I was 19."

Åkerfeldt went a little deeper and described the music contained within "Heritage", saying, "It's quite intense at times in some 'old' murky way, and quite beautiful and stark at times, if I may say so myself.

"It's obvious I'm going to say nice things about it since I wrote, basically, the whole piece, but I guess it will raise a few eyebrows and it certainly is an acquired taste.

"I think you'll need a slightly deeper understanding of our music as a whole to be able to appreciate this record.

"I've realized my influences for this album are so diverse that I can't really say what it sounds like.

"If I can compare it to any other band, it would have to be OPETH, but it's different from the stuff we've done before.

"I've listened a lot to ALICE COOPER for the last year, yet I can't say it sounds like 'No More Mr. Nice Guy'.

"I hope you'll like it once you hear it."
To be honest, I can't remember the last time I didn't enjoy an Opeth record so I'm sure I'll dig this one as well.  In addition to all this good news, Opeth also plans on doing a seven week headlining tour of the U.S. in support of this new record.  Needless to say, I can't wait.  

The tracklisting for Heritage is as follows:

01. Heritage
02. The Devil's Orchard
03. I Feel The Dark
04. Slither
05. Nepenthe
06. Haxprocess
07. Famine
08. The Lines In My Hand
09. Folklore
10. Marrow Of The Earth


No comments:

Post a Comment